Each year the Department of Mathematics and Statistics sponsors a calculus competition, which is open to any undergraduate student at YSU or any high school student enrolled in an undergraduate class at YSU.  The first competition was held on February 10, 1990.  The competition is now a team competition with teams of no more than three students competing. (An individual may also compete as a team.) The winner of the competition receives a $120 cash prize.  Depending upon the number of teams, we may also award a prize of $90 for second place and $60 for third place.  The winners of the 2017 competition, held on April 6, were Samuel Delatore, Pranav Padmanabhan, and Theoni Kasamias.  To see a list of past competition winners, click here.

   Next year’s event will be held sometime near the beginning of March.  Please, check this page near that time for more detailed information.  If you would like to see what kinds of questions are asked on the competition, you can download copies of the previous competitions (see below).  These are available as PDF files, which can be viewed with the Adobe Acrobat Reader.

The Files.

Competition 1

Competition 11

Competition 21


Competition 2

Competition 12

Competition 22


Competition 3

Competition 13

Competition 23


Competition 4

Competition 14

Competition 24


Competition 5

Competition 15

Competition 25


Competition 6

Competition 16

Competition 26


Competition 7

Competition 17

Competition 27


Competition 8

Competition 18

Competition 28


Competition 9

Competition 19



Competition 10

Competition 20